Meet the Team! Jessie Adams

Favourite Quote:

“Never let the fear of striking out keep you from playing the game.”

Babe Ruth

Jessie Adams completed her Bachelor of Public Health and Health Promotion (Hons) and Bachelor of Commerce at Deakin University in 2017. Following this, Jessie made the move to Hamilton to work as a Research Assistant at the centre. In 2020, she commenced her PhD focusing on child safety on farms. Growing up on a beef farm in north east Victoria Jessie is keen to help improve the health, wellbeing and safety of farming communities. 

Keep reading to find out more about Jessie…

What is something that Australian farmers have to deal with that you would like to fix?  

I think the lack of access to services in rural areas is a challenge all Australian farmers have to deal with. It would be great to increase the cultural competence of services in rural areas to ensure farmers find them engaging, relatable and approachable.

What do you like about working with NCFH? 

I enjoy working with the supportive team at the NCFH. There are always different things going on which is exciting and means you are constantly challenged and able to develop many diverse skills. 

What are you currently working on at NCFH? 

I am currently completing my PhD. My study is focused on exploring if the behaviours, attitudes and lifestyles on Victorian farms influence the risk of fatal and non-fatal injuries for children. I also work as a Research Assistant and most recently have been working on ‘RAHDaR on Climate’ which is a research project aiming to understand the characteristics of presentations to the Emergency Department on extreme heat days in rural south-west Victoria.

What is your background? 

I grew up on the beef farm in Staghorn Flat (north east Victoria). After a year spent living in England, I moved to Melbourne to complete a Bachelor of Public Health and Health Promotion and a Bachelor of Commerce at Deakin University. Following this, I completed my Honours year investigating children’s physical activity and motor skill use in playgrounds. In 2018, I moved to Hamilton to work as a Research Assistant at the NCFH.

What are the values that drive you? 

Hard work, dependability, respect, authenticity and fun/enjoyment. 

What are your three favourite podcasts/books? 

Reading is not my speciality, however, I really enjoyed ‘The Dry’ by Jane Harper and ‘The Happiest Man on Earth’ by Eddie Jaku. Also, the Hamish and Andy podcast is always a laugh.

What do you enjoy doing when you are not working?  

I enjoy catching up with friends, participating in sport (netball, tennis and gym) and taking my dog Bertie for walks. 

Jessie’s PhD seeks to better understand the behaviour of children on farms and how this might influence their safety. If you would like to help inform Jessie’s research, you can email her at